Captain’s Log Day #8

Today I felt inspired to make an old school style beat. I started by looking on YouTube for a Barber Quartet that I could sample. The only “samplable” things I could find where most definitely copywrited. I eventually decided to just use an apple loop. So that I wasn’t just dragging loops into GarageBand I chopped up the sample, making it my own. One of the main inspirations for this was the Blue World sample used by Mac Miller. Logic also recently released some of his music from when he was an underground artist that was full of samples. After chopping up the sample I added some reverberated drums and some other instruments. It’s coming together quite nicely. In addition I have a basic idea for a chorus. Today was extremely productive.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *