Medication. Director Production Journal

Summary

My production was not perfect and I had to deal with several obstacles… That being said I am very proud of my film. Some challenges that I had to overcome were being the only member of my team as the whole “music video idea” doesn’t fit in the IB rubric and can’t be used for evidence for certain team members. I was forced to rely on friends who supported me along the way, to which I am very grateful. Over all there were some problems with the final product such as my friend who filmed covering the camera in certain key shots. Over all I am proud of my film, I just think that it can be further improved upon outside of class.

Production Notes for Each Day of Shooting

Day 1

Expectations:

  1. Scout locations to see which ones work
  2. consider possible ideas for locations and possible changes to the script
  3. Be aware of other people and be respectful of the public park.

What was Achieved?

  1. Found good location that would work for my film
  2. Made changes to the script to make our film better
  3. Respected the area and people around us

What was not Achieved?

  1. I was unable to get a crowd to show up to the video shoot. The weather was supposed to be sunny and it took a turn for the worst. This discouraged the majority of the people who were expected to show up.

Day 2

Expectations:

  1. Film several shots of me lip-syncing the entire song as well as cinematic shots.
  2. Be considerate of others around the film crew.
  3. Communicate different ideas or shots for the scene to my friend who I had film.

What was Achieved?

  1. several useful shots were obtained
  2. remained courteous and respectful of the public space and others around us.
  3. left the space as it was before we arrived.

What was not Achieved?

  1. some scenes were unable to be filmed due to lack of video participants and bad weather.

Day 3 

Expectations: 

  1. review footage and begin editing

What was Achieved?

  1. footage was reviewed and some editing plans were made,

What was not Achieved?

  1. No editing was done due to personal lack of skillset.

Day 4 

Expectations:

  1. research how to edit
  2. start editing

What was Achieved?

  1. ended up finding a friend who was willing to edit the film
  2. he began editing and reviewing shots with me

What was not Achieved?

n/a

Day 5

Expectations:

  1. Record folly sounds
  2. begin editing remaining clips

What was Achieved?

  1. folly sounds were recorded

What was not Achieved?

  1. film in its entirety. This meant that I was forced to finish the edits myself.

Day 6 

Expectations:

  1. Compose extended intro for the song to build more tension within the music video
  2. Import and edit in folly sound effects

What was Achieved?

  1. folly edited in
  2. soundtrack was edited and imported

What was not Achieved?

  1. n/a

Day 7

Expectations:

  1. Final touches on edits!!!

What was Achieved?

  1. Edits were finished!

What was not Achieved?

N/A

Ongoing Discussions with Film Team

Discussion with Editor:

Edited by: August

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *