February 2022 SMART Goal Project

EMINEM rapping

SUMMARY

This project was pretty difficult and frustrating but fun at the same time. I learned a lot. Slowing down and focusing really helps me improve.

Intention (SMART Goal)

My goal over the course of this project was to learn the fast verse in Godzilla by Eminem.

PRE-PRODUCTION – INQUIRY

Leader(s) in the Field / Exemplary Work(s)

Marshal Mathers. Eminem is an incredible and well respected rap artist. He is a true master of and breath control.

Training Source(s)

SMART Goal Schedule

Everyday this week I will practice rapping the verse that I am trying to learn.

PRODUCTION

SMART Goal Starting Point Evidence

My enunciation and breath control here was very poor. It can be greatly improved with practice.

SMART Goal Ending Point Evidence

POST-PRODUCTION – REFLECTION

21st Century Skills

Ways of Thinking (Creativity, Innovation, Critical Thinking, Problem Solving)

I originally intended to record my project with OBS but the software would not detect my output. After some trouble shooting, I decided to record the project with Photo Booth.

Tools for Working (Info & Media Literacy)

PhotoBooth and Google Chrome. My phone.

Self-Evaluation of Final Version

I know its been said so many times but… Slowing the song down is really the key to learning the song. I also was still having a lot of trouble with OBS so I decided to record the final version with my phone.

What I Learned and Problems I Solved

I learned that slowing the song the song down really helps when learning the verse. It helps with pronunciation and breath control. It’s good to slow it down to a point where you can almost do it perfectly. In contrast, speeding up past the full speed of the song in some cases can make the normal tempo feel easier.

Editor

Aydin Prindle

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *